Thai Fried Chicken (Thailand)

Thai Fried Chicken

Recipe by: http://rasamalaysia.com/thai-fried-chicken/2/

Hey, welcome back to my cooking blog! Today I will be cooking Thai Fried Chicken. I

thai-tea-boba-2
Picture Credit: http://www.rachelcooksthai.com/thai-pearl-milk-tea/

have eaten fried chicken many times but never Thai style. Now that I think of it, I’ve never eaten anything from Thailand. The only Thai drink that I’ve tried and love to drink is Thai Tea! I hope that it turns out well so that I can cook this for my family in the future. Well, let’s get on to cooking!

You will need

  • 2 lbs of Chicken (drumsticks, thighs, breasts, or cut-up chicken pieces)
  • 6 Cloves Garlic (peeled & pounded)
  • 2 tbsp Cilantro Roots/Stems (no leaves)
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 4 tbsp Fish Sauce
  • 2 tbsp Oyster Sauce
  • ½ tbsp Black Pepper (Ground)
  • 4 tbsp All-Purpose Flour
  • 4 tbsp Cornstarch
  • 4 tbsp Rice Flour
  • Cooking Oil

Directions                                                                                                                                                 First, blend the garlic, cilantro, and salt to a fine paste in a food processor. Then pat the chicken until it is almost fully dried. Add the paste, fish sauce, oyster sauce, and ground black pepper onto the chicken. Evenly coat the chicken. Next, put the seasoned chicken into a bag (preferably Ziploc®) and let it marinate for 4-6 hours in the fridge. Take it out of the bag from the fridge. Heat a deep fryer of a pot of cooking oil and mix the two types of flour and cornstarch together in a separate bag. Add the chicken to the new bag, mix it until it gets fully coated, and shake the excess flour off. Drop the chicken carefully into the oil, so you don’t get burned. Deep fry the chicken until it is crispy and a golden brown color. Remove the fried chicken and (optionally) wrap in paper towels to remove the excess oil. Serve either on rice or eat it plain. I recommend eating it on rice, since it’s too salty to eat alone.

IMG_1669.JPG
My Own Result

Here is my finished product. It turned out satisfactory, but not as good as I thought it would be. It burnt it a bit, because I was bombarded with oil and didn’t want to stand close. I would give it a three out of five, since didn’t taste bad and I could eat it as a normal meal with rice. Well, see you at the next post!

Leave a Reply

